33n Sidebar Banner Ad

Explore Regional Snapshots and The Quarter at 33°N




Atlanta Region 20-County Data Dashboard

Atlanta Region 20-County Data Dashboard

The Atlanta Region

The Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) is the regional planning and intergovernmental coordination agency for the 10-county Atlanta area, including Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale counties, as well as the City of Atlanta.

ARC also produces and collects data for a larger, 20-county area for air quality purposes. These include the 10 counties above, plus Barrow, Bartow, Carroll, Coweta, Forsyth, Hall, Newton, Paulding, Spalding and Walton counties.

So, the Atlanta region is defined in many different ways. This map (PDF) may help clear things up. 

Latest Forecasts for Population and Employment (to 2040)

ARC's newly-released population and employment forecasts show continued strong growth for the 20-county Atlanta region. What does ARC expect in the future? Find out on our new forecast page!

2016 Population Estimates

ARC's recently-released population estimates show the 10-county Atlanta region is now home to 4,401,800 persons in 2016, up from 4,332,600 in 2015. From April 1, 2015 to April 1, 2016 the region added 69,200 new residents, the largest single-year population increase since the Great Recession. Read more in the Regional Snapshot: 2016 Population Estimates.

2012 Employment Estimates

Go to the employment data page to learn more about ARC's 2012 employment estimates. Not only do they include small-area estimates for the 20-county region by job type. Interested in just the data?

Data Tables

The files presented below are all XLSX.


Interested in more information about metro Atlanta? Visit the Weave tool on Neighborhood Nexus and explore our 20-County Data Dashboard

© 2016 Atlanta Regional Commission   |   40 Courtland Street NE - Atlanta, GA 30303   |   404.463.3100   |   www.atlantaregional.com