Douglas County

In 1870, Douglas County was carved out of Carroll, Campbell (now Fulton) and Cherokee counties and is named after Abraham Lincoln’s famous rival for congress and the presidency, Stephen A. Douglas. According to 2014 Census population estimates, it is the 17th most populous county in Georgia and the 8th most populous in the 10-county Atlanta region. At 199 square miles, Douglas ranks 139th (out of 159) in the state in area and 7th in the 10-county region.

ARC in Douglas County

Think You Know Douglas County?


County Profiles

Check out ARC's county profile dashboard that presents data about a myriad of topics in an easy-to-use, interactive format. Simply choose the topic and jurisdiction you are interested in and visualize how your jurisdiction compares to others in the Atlanta region. Also, be sure to move your mouse over all the charts – in some cases you can change what is being displayed. 




© 2016 Atlanta Regional Commission   |   40 Courtland Street NE - Atlanta, GA 30303   |   404.463.3100   |