Fayette County

In 1821, Fayette County was formed out of parts of the lands of the Creek Indian Nation and is named after Marquis de LaFayette, who, though from France, was one of Gen. George Washington’s key commanders during the Revolutionary War. According to 2014 Census population estimates, it is the 22nd most populous county in Georgia and the 9th most populous in the 10-county Atlanta region. At 197 square miles, Fayette ranks 142nd (out of 159) in the state in area and 8th in the 10-county region.

ARC in Fayette County

Think You Know Fayette County?


County Profiles

Check out ARC's county profile dashboard that presents data about a myriad of topics in an easy-to-use, interactive format. Simply choose the topic and jurisdiction you are interested in and visualize how your jurisdiction compares to others in the Atlanta region. Also, be sure to move your mouse over all the charts – in some cases you can change what is being displayed. 


© 2016 Atlanta Regional Commission   |   40 Courtland Street NE - Atlanta, GA 30303   |   404.463.3100   |   www.atlantaregional.com